The United States Chairmanship of Arctic Council 2015/2017

us-army-2016As an Arctic Nation since 1867,  the United States is a vital member of Arctic Council which encompasses 8 Arctic States:  Canada, the Kingdom of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden and the U.S. 

In April 2015 the United States assumed the Chairmanship of Arctic Council continuing until May 2017.  This is the second time that the U.S has been awarded the Council’s Chairmanship and its vision for this term illustrates:                                                                                                           One Arctic

                  Shared Opportunities, Challenges and Responsibilities